更多信息

    广告

    广告

    罕见育儿播客综述|2023 年 10 月

    有很多优秀的播客围绕病情复杂儿童的父母所面临的问题分享故事和建议。在播客世界中穿梭可能会很棘手。为了帮助您,我们整理了一份值得一听的节目单。请参阅下面的回顾,并通过 Spotify 点击收听--就在本文中!

    当 "FOMO "开始侵袭医护父母时

    您是否曾为您的孩子经历过 "FOMO",觉得他/她错过了生活体验?您可能会因为孩子无法享受某些生活体验而感到难过,也可能会因为无法与孩子分享某些亲子体验而感到内疚。您还可能面临艰难的抉择:是让孩子体验不适合他们病情的经历,还是让他们错过,以保持安全和舒适?本集将为您提供 "FOMO "来临时的生活管理策略,例如调整您的孩子可以享受的体验,以及如何调整体验使其更容易获得。

    罕见病妈妈的自白,第 10/6 集

    寻找罕见病社区

    建立一个社区不仅可以让您分享经验,还有助于消除孤独感和改善心理健康。主持人描述了他在英国参加一次苯丙酮尿症(PKU)会议期间的心路历程,他在会上采访了来自不同国家的几位受 PKU(以及作为 PKU 治疗的疾病)影响的人。他从这些采访中汲取灵感,讨论了每个人对待生活的不同态度。他还进一步讨论了尽管存在这些差异,但如何通过属于同一个罕见疾病社区找到支持。

    永不放弃,罕见病播客,第 4 集

    感官系统的日常影响

    儿科职业治疗师穆尼拉-阿丹瓦拉(Munira Ardhanwala)讲述了儿童的大脑是如何处理感官刺激的,并讨论了身体活动是如何磨灭强烈情绪的。她探讨了肌肉运动,如在蹦床上跳跃、爬行、拉绳子以及简单地推挤成人的手等,都可以帮助儿童调节情绪、发展运动技能并改善运动与放松之间的平衡。此外,本书还提到了一些资源,可进一步支持孩子的感官和运动发展。

    为人父母的强度,第 17 集

    残疾父母面临的障碍以及如何获得这种亟需的关爱

    有复杂病症儿童的父母可能会经历悲痛、绝望、孤独、愤怒、怨恨、沮丧等强烈情绪。在本期节目中,临床心理学家、罕见病母亲丽兹-斯皮策(Liz Spitzer)证实罕见病父母应该得到关爱,并提醒我们需要让自己花时间关爱自己。她谈到了你可以从中受益的不同类型的治疗、接受治疗所面临的障碍以及克服这些障碍的策略。她还提到了有用的在线资源,以帮助寻找自我治疗护理。

    罕见的生活》,第 138 集

    利用儿童生活专家

    儿童生活专家通常是在医院首次遇到,他们是儿科专家,在您和孩子住院期间为您提供支持。然而,许多儿童生活专家也可以在医院外提供服务,他们可以充当顾问,帮助您解决从诊断到日常生活中照顾孩子的各种问题。在本期节目中,您将听到儿童生活专家兼 "儿童生活随叫随到 "首席执行官凯蒂-泰勒(Katie Taylor)的介绍。她将向您解释儿童生活专家如何为您和您的孩子提供社会心理和心理护理,让您在养育孩子的道路上更加得心应手。

    基因的诞生》,第 202 集

    如果我们能减轻护理压力会怎样?

    在本期节目中,我们将见到维克-夏尔马(Vik Sharma),他是一个被诊断患有脑瘫的孩子的父亲,这个孩子生来就不会说话,也无法行走。维克讨论了照顾孩子的负担,并提供了减轻负担的策略。他还谈到了耐心的重要性,如何控制急躁情绪,如何将新技术与旧技术相结合,以及始终牢记做最适合自己和孩子的事情。

    如何成为复杂问题儿童的优秀医疗保健代言人

    朱莉娅-罗伯茨(Julia Roberts)是两个孩子的母亲,两个孩子都患有先天性神经发育遗传疾病。她的第一条建议就是要乐于寻求并接受帮助。她讨论了确保朋友和家人了解你所面临的挑战的重要性,这样他们才能更好地帮助你,也更有动力帮助你。她还讨论了简化生活、如何管理自己的情绪以及何时寻求治疗等问题。她提醒您,尽管面临挑战,也要坚持生活下去。

    刚需:教养残疾儿童,第 10/12 集

    我的孩子有攻击性,我感到很孤独

    照顾具有攻击性的孩子可能会让人感到羞耻或害怕他人的评判,这往往会导致某种形式的孤立。生活教练 Susanna Peace Lovell 和家庭治疗师 Kimberly Kooy 将与嘉宾一起谈论这些感受,并提供应对攻击性行为的建议。他们在讨论中利用听众的提问来得出自己的观点。他们还讨论了纪录片《UNSEEN》,提醒大家在照顾有复杂需求的孩子时,您并不孤单。

    勇敢在一起,第 10/18 集

    返校报到和评估

    新学年的活动和责任纷繁复杂,令人应接不暇。卡拉和四位妈妈讨论了如何为您的家庭创建一个有效的系统--从使用可视化日历和杂货配送服务到管理孩子的疲劳和压力。她们分享了为孩子创造新习惯以实现里程碑的技巧,以及如何减少额外活动或加入社区,给孩子们放松的空间。此外,他们还探讨了寻求帮助、改善与老师的沟通以及让孩子休息一下等话题。

    特需妈妈播客》,第 10/11 集

    如需了解更多精选书单,请查看我们为孩子们准备的《罕见的育儿书单》!

    信息披露:我们有时会提供推荐产品的链接。当您通过链接购买产品时,我们可能会赚取销售额的一小部分,您无需支付任何费用。这些销售有助于我们网站的运营,并有助于保持内容的免费阅读。

    分享这个:

    广告

    评论

    发表评论

    请输入您的评论!
    请在此处输入您的姓名

    相关帖子

    广告

    分享到

    了解最新信息

     alt=

    订阅我们的月度通讯

    了解最新新闻和信息。

    广告

    最新故事

Advertisement

Advertisement

Rare Parenting Podcast Roundup | October 2023

There are many wonderful podcasters sharing stories and advice around the issues faced by parents of medically complex children. Navigating the podcasting world can be tricky. To help you out, we’ve compiled a list of episodes worth a listen. See below for recaps, and click to listen via Spotify – right from this article!

When the “FOMO” Starts Creeping in as a Medical Parent

Have you ever experienced “FOMO,” for your child, feeling that he/she is missing out on life experiences? You may feel saddened by the fact that your child can’t enjoy certain life experiences, or you may feel guilty that you can’t share in certain parent/child experiences with them. You may also face tough decisions: Do you let your child have an experience that isn’t suited for their condition?, or should they miss out on it, to stay safe and comfortable? This episode suggests strategies to manage life when “FOMO” sets in, such as adjusting to experiences your child can enjoy, and how to adapt experiences to be more accessible.

Confessions of a Rare Disease Mama, Episode 10/6

Finding Your Rare Disease Community

Building a community not only allows you to share experiences, but it can also help fight isolation and improve mental health. The host describes his journey during a Phenylketonuria (PKU) conference in the U.K., where he interviewed several people from different countries affected by PKU (and disorders treated as PKU). He draws insights from these interviews to discuss the differences in each person’s approach to life. He further discusses how despite these differences, support is found by belonging to the same rare disease community.

Never Give Up, A Rare Disease Podcast, Episode #4

Sensory System’s Everyday Impact

Pediatric Occupational Therapist Munira Ardhanwala talks about how the child’s brain processes sensory stimuli and discusses how physical activities can ground intense emotions. She explores how muscle movements, such as jumping on a trampoline, crawling, pulling on a rope, and simply pushing against an adult’s hand, can all help children regulate their emotions, develop motor skills, and improve their movement-relaxation balance. Also included are mentions of resources to further support your child’s sensory and motor development.

Parenting the Intensity, Episode #17

Barriers Disability Parents Face + How to Receive This Much-Needed Care

Parents of medically complex children can experience intense emotions such as feelings of grief, despair, isolation, anger, resentment, frustration, and more. In this episode, Liz Spitzer, a clinical psychologist and rare mom, validates that rare parents deserve care, and reminds us that we need to allow ourselves to take time to care for ourselves. She talks about different types of therapy you can benefit from, the barriers faced to getting therapy, and strategies to overcome these barriers. Useful online resources are mentioned to help with a search for self-therapy care.

The Rare Life, Episode #138

Utilizing Child Life Specialists

Child life specialists are often first encountered at the hospital, as pediatric specialists who support you and your child as you navigate hospital stays. However, many are also available outside the hospital, acting as counselors to help navigate everything from diagnosis to caring for your child in daily life. In this episode, you will hear from Katie Taylor, a child life specialist, and CEO of Child Life On Call. She explains how child life specialists can offer psychosocial and psychological care for both you and your child, empowering you on your parenting journey.

Once Upon a Gene, Episode #202

What if We Could Reduce the Stress of Caregiving?

In this episode, we meet Vik Sharma, the father of a child diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy, born nonverbal and non-ambulatory. Vik discusses the burdens of caregiving and offers strategies to reduce the load. He also touches on the importance of patience, managing impatience, mixing new technology with old, and always remembering to do what works best for you and your child.

How to Be a Great Health Care Advocate for Your Complex Kid

Julia Roberts, a mother of two children, both born with a neurodevelopmental genetic disorder, draws from her experiences to discuss tips on how to be an advocate. Her number one tip is to be comfortable asking for, and accepting, help. She discusses the importance of ensuring that friends and family are aware of the challenges you face, so that they are better equipped and more motivated to help you. She also discusses simplifying your life, figuring out how to manage your emotions, and when to seek therapy. She reminds you to keep life going, despite the challenges you face.

Just Needs: Parenting Children with Disabilities, Episode 10/12

My Child is Aggressive and I Feel So Alone

Caring for aggressive children can bring feelings of shame or fear of judgment from others, often resulting in some form of isolation. Together with guests, life coach Susanna Peace Lovell, and family therapist Kimberly Kooy, speak about these feelings and offer suggestions to deal with aggressive behavior. They utilize listeners’ questions during the discussion to arrive at their points. They also discuss the documentary UNSEEN, to serve as a reminder that you are not alone, as you care for your complex needs child.

Brave Together, Episode 10/18

Back to School Check-in and Evaluation

The turbulence of activities and responsibilities of a new school year can be more than just a little overwhelming. Kara and four moms discuss creating an effective system for your family – from using visual calendars and grocery delivery services to managing your child’s fatigue and stress. They share tips on creating new habits for kids to achieve milestones, and how reducing extra activities or joining communities can give kids space to relax. Topics like asking for help, improving communication with teachers, and taking a break from your kids, are also explored.

The Special Needs Mom Podcast, Episode 10/11

For more curated lists, check out our Rare Parenting book lists for kids!

Disclosure: Occasionally, we include links to recommended products. When you purchase a product through a link, we may earn a small percentage of the sale, at no cost to you. These sales contribute to the operation of our site, and help to keep content free to read.

Share This:

Advertisement

Comments

Leave a Comment

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Posts

Advertisement

Share This

Stay up to date

 alt=

Sign up to our monthly newsletter

Stay updated with the latest news and info.

Advertisement

Recent Stories

Advertisement

Popular

Advertisement

Stay up to date

Stay up to date

 alt=

Sign up to our monthly newsletter

Stay updated with the latest news and info.

Advertisement