إعلان

إعلان

الأكل مبالغ فيه: منظور الطفل على أنابيب G

ملاحظة المحرر: من حين لآخر ، ندعو شابا بالغا لكتابة حساب من منظور الشخص الأول لتجارب طفولته. نأمل أن تلقي تأملاتهم الضوء على ظروف معينة حتى يكتسب الآباء نظرة ثاقبة أثناء رعايتهم لعائلاتهم.

قبل عام ، في سن التاسعة عشرة ، تم تشخيص إصابتي بمتلازمة FOXG1 ، وهو مرض وراثي نادر مع مجموعة من الأعراض من طفيفة إلى شديدة. تتميز أعراض كل طفل بطفرة محددة في جين FOXG1 - تبدو أعراضي مشابهة للشلل الدماغي ولكن مع اضطراب الحركة. كشف تسلسل الإكسوم الكامل عن تكرار 460 - نيوكليوتيد G إضافي في الحمض النووي الخاص بي - مما يفسر سبب عدم المشي أو التحدث أو الأكل أو التحكم في ضحكي.

نظرا لعدم وجود علاج حتى الآن ، فإن علاجي يدور حول إدارة الأعراض والتكنولوجيا والمعدات المساعدة ، مثل الكراسي المتحركة والواقفين. يمكن لبعض الأطفال والبالغين استخدام المفاتيح (الأزرار) التي يتم تنشيطها يدويا أو جهاز Eye Gaze (جهاز لوحي يمكنه تتبع حركات عينيك) للتواصل. لم تنجح هذه بالنسبة لي لأن لدي حركات لا إرادية في أطرافي ، مما يجعل من الصعب علي الضغط على زر أو إمساك رأسي في وضع طويل بما يكفي لتركيز نظري.

بمرور الوقت ، تعلمت أمي أنه يمكنني استخدام صدري ، بدلا من يدي ، للضغط على المفاتيح. نحن عائلة DIY ، لذلك بنى والدي "أخبرنا أبي" ، نظام الاتصال الخاص بي. فهو يجمع بين عدة مفاتيح مع جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بي ، كل منها يتحكم في شيء ما على الشاشة. أستخدم هذا النظام للدردشة مع الأصدقاء ، وإجراء الامتحانات في جامعة كولومبيا ، والكتابة عن إعاقتي.

الحياة قبل أنبوب G الخاص بي

صورة أبراهام فايتسمان عندما كان طفلا صغيرا
الائتمان: ميشيل فايتسمان | أبراهام فايتسمان

قيل لي إنني كنت آكلا جيدا عندما ولدت ، لكنني أبصق كثيرا. بعمر عام واحد ، كنت أعاني من نقص الوزن ولم أنجح في تناول الطعام الصلب. كانت أمي ملتزمة ، لكن أي قدر من حبها ومثابرتها لن يغير عدم قدرتي على المضغ والبلع. حولني أخصائي أمراض الجهاز الهضمي ، الدكتور كازلو ، إلى Pediasure لزيادة السعرات الحرارية التي أتناولها. كان لديها كل ما أحتاجه لتنمو بشكل كبير وقوي ، من الناحية النظرية.

لن يغير أي قدر من حب أمي وإصرارها عدم قدرتي على المضغ والبلع.

بينما كنت قادرا على الشرب من الزجاجة ، ما زلت أتقيأ ، لذلك لم أكتسب وزنا. بمرور الوقت ، تم تشخيص إصابتي ب "الفشل في النمو". هل يمكنك أن تتخيل سماع أنني كنت فاشلا؟ كنت طفلا! لا ينبغي وصف الأطفال ب "الفشل" ، بغض النظر عن حالتهم. بصرف النظر عن التشخيص غير الحساس ، كانت أمي مستاءة - كانت قلقة بشأن ما يجب فعله بعد ذلك.

جراحاتي

قال الدكتور كازلو إنني سأحتاج إلى أنبوب تغذية. كان الجراح يصنع فتحة تسمى فغر المعدة من بطني ، أسفل ضلوعي مباشرة ، إلى معدتي. هذا الأنبوب G (أنبوب فغر المعدة) من شأنه أن يلغي الحاجة إلى تنسيق البلع. كانوا يأملون أن يتحسن ارتجاعي ، الذي تم إلقاء اللوم عليه في القيء ، مع مرور الوقت والدواء. في سبعة عشر شهرا ، أجريت عمليتي الجراحية.

على مدار العامين التاليين ، أطعمني والداي Pediasure باستخدام أنبوب تغذية ومضخة ، لكنني ما زلت لم أكتسب وزنا لأن الارتجاع الشديد استمر في التسبب في القيء. تقيأت بعد كل وجبة ، في العلاج ، في الشارع ، في المطاعم ... كان لا نهاية له. عندما أوصلتني أمي إلى المدرسة ، غطتني بمنشفة للحفاظ على نظافتي.

أخيرا ، اتصلت أمي بالدكتور كازلو وصرخت ، "كيف تريد أن تتقيأ بعد كل وجبة طوال حياتك ؟!" وافق على أن الوقت قد حان لإجراء عملية جراحية أخرى. كانت الخطوة التالية هي إجراء يسمى تثنية قاع نيسن. أنشأ الجراح صماما أحادي الاتجاه بين المريء ومعدتي ، مما يمنع محتويات المعدة من الانتقال إلى المريء. تم إجراؤه بالمنظار ، مما يعني أنهم قاموا بعمل شقوق صغيرة واستخدموا كاميرا لمعرفة ما كانوا يفعلونه. لقد عملت بشكل مثالي - لم أتقيأ مرة أخرى.

الحياة مع أنبوب G الخاص بي

صورة أبراهام فايتسمان عندما كان طفلا
الائتمان: ميشيل فايتسمان | أبراهام فايتسمان

الحقيقة هي أنني لا أتذكر العمليات الجراحية التي أجريتها - فقد حدث كلاهما قبل أن أبلغ الرابعة من عمري. في ذاكرتي ، نشأت وأنا أحصل على السعرات الحرارية والفيتامينات والمعادن من خلال أنبوبي. أكلت فقط لأغراض ترفيهية ، مما يعني أنني أكلت من أجل المتعة. أكلت اجتماعيا وفقط ما أريد ومتى وإذا أردت. لم أجبر أبدا على تناول الطعام. اشترى لي والداي الأشياء المفضلة لدي لتشجيعي على تناول الطعام - جبن بورسين وموس الشوكولاتة وأنابيب كريمة الكانولي. ساعدني صديقي مايك أيضا - جعلني داخل بيض شيطاني.

في المدرسة ، أكلت خلال وقت الوجبة الخفيفة وتم إطعامي في وقت الغداء في مكتب الممرضات. كنت في مدرسة للأطفال الضعفاء طبيا حتى الصف الثامن ، لذلك لم أكن وحدي في الغداء. كان لدي رفاق من فصول أخرى تم إطعامهم أيضا من قبل الممرضات. بالنسبة لنا ، كانت مجرد طريقة أخرى لتناول الطعام.

في المنزل ، أكلت القليل جدا عن طريق الفم. أعطت أمي الأولوية للعلاج والأكاديميين. كانت تقدم الطعام لكنها كانت تعلم أن الأكل الترفيهي ليس بنفس أهمية القراءة أو جداول الضرب. لقد أراحنا أنبوبي من ساعات من الإحباط في محاولة الحصول على التغذية الكافية في الجهاز الهضمي.

لقد أراحنا أنبوبي من ساعات من الإحباط.

بحلول المدرسة الثانوية ، كان هناك وقت أقل لتناول الطعام ، وسرعان ما أدركت أنه لم يكن ممتعا بالنسبة لي. مع تقدمي في تعليمي ، كنت بحاجة إلى قضاء المزيد من الوقت في إنتاج عمل عالي الجودة. عندما كان لدي وقت فراغ ، لم أكن أرغب في إنفاقه في النضال من أجل ابتلاع ملعقة كبيرة من الكريمة المخفوقة في خمسة عشر ملعقة صغيرة فقط ليسيل لعاب نصفها على قميصي. في النهاية ، كان خيار التوقف عن تناول الطعام عن طريق الفم هو قراري ، ودعمه والداي ذلك.

تركيبات أنبوب التغذية الخاصة بي

على الرغم من أن طريقة التسليم لم تتغير خلال تسعة عشر عاما ، إلا أن الصيغة قد تغيرت. لقد بدأت مع Pediasure ، الذي نجح بشكل جيد ، لكنني لم أستطع هضمه بالسرعة الكافية ، لذلك حدثت إحدى وجباتي أثناء نومي طوال الليل. كانت جميع ملابس النوم الخاصة بي تحتوي على شقوق لتشغيل الأنبوب في ساقي ، لذا فإن حركاتي اللاإرادية لم تجعلني أخرجه.

بعد Pediasure ، جربت النظام الغذائي الكيتون لمنع نوباتي التي لم يتم التحكم فيها جيدا بالأدوية. كان يتطلب تركيبة مصنوعة من مسحوق في ذلك الوقت. لم أواجه مشكلة في هضمه ، لكنه لم يؤثر على نوباتي بشكل جيد بما فيه الكفاية ، لذلك عدت إلى بدياشور. بعد فترة وجيزة ، وجدنا نظاما دوائيا نجح بدلا من ذلك.

في وقت لاحق ، في سن المراهقة ، جربنا تركيبة عالية البروتين لزيادة الوزن. عندما لم يتفق معي ذلك ، وجدنا وصفة قائمة على الببتيد. كل طفل لديه احتياجات مختلفة ، لكن تركيبة الببتيد كانت الأكثر نجاحا بالنسبة لي.

ومع ذلك ، لا أحتاج دائما إلى الحصول على تركيبة ببتيد. عندما نكون بالخارج ولا نحضر كرتونة إضافية ، فإن اللبن المخفوق سيفي بالغرض. أي شيء يمكنك شربه من خلال القش يمكن أن يذهب في حقيبة التغذية الخاصة بي دون عواقب وخيمة.

كما يفعل العديد من الأطفال ، أتناول دوائي لعلاج الصرع والتحكم في الحركة من خلال أنبوبي. إنها طريقة التسليم المثالية لأن البلع يستغرق وقتا طويلا وصعبا بالنسبة لي.

التغذية الأنبوبية ليست مثل الأكل

صورة لأبراهام فايتسمان في كرسيه الخارجي لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، مع والدته إلى جانبه، ممسكة بكيس أنبوب التغذية الخاص به أثناء تغذيته بالأنبوب.
الائتمان: جوش فايتسمان | أبراهام وميشيل فايتسمان

يتعامل والداي مع كل شيء يتعلق برعايتي الطبية بخلاف إطعامي وعلاجي فعليا ، وهو ما يقوم به المساعدون. أنا مستلم ، ولست مشاركا في العملية. قد تعتقد أن هذا يعني أنه ليس لدي سيطرة على ما يدخل جسدي. قد تعتقد أيضا أنك لا ترغب في أن يتم إخبارك بما تأكله وكم يكفي. ولكن هذا هو درسي لك: التغذية بالأنبوب ليست مثل الأكل.

إليك درسي لك: التغذية الأنبوبية ليست مثل الأكل.

أشعر بالجوع والشبع ، لكنني لا أشعر أن الصيغة تدخل بطني. لا أستطيع تذوقه. أنا أستمتع بالروائح في المطبخ - الشوكولاتة والقهوة وإكليل الجبل والزعتر - لكن الحليب الصناعي لا رائحة في كيس الرضاعة. التغذية الأنبوبية هي تجربة محايدة. إنه ليس مؤلما ولا ممتعا. إنها مجرد ضرورة عادية. بالنسبة لشخص يستمتع بتناول الطعام ، قد يبدو هذا مخيبا للآمال ، لكن بالنسبة لي ، هذا طبيعي.

قد يكون من الصعب عليك أن تتخيل أن تناول الطعام عن طريق الفم غير ضروري عندما يكون جزءا لا يتجزأ وضروريا لحياتك. فهم أمي جيدا ، قد تشعر بالحزن لأن طفلك غير قادر على تناول الطعام مثل أي شخص آخر. في حين أن هذه المشاعر صحيحة ، فإن الحصول على التغذية أكثر أهمية من كيفية الحصول عليها.

تحدث إلى طفلك ، لكن استمع إليه أيضا

إذا كنت تفكر في أنبوب لطفلك ، فتواصل معه بشأن عملية الجراحة ويتم إطعامه من خلال أنبوب ، قبل الجراحة وأثناء نموه. حتى لو لم يتمكنوا من الاستجابة ، أخبرهم بما يحدث لأجسادهم. باستثناء الأطفال الأصغر سنا ، سوف يفهمون بعضا منها - ربما أكثر مما تعرف. لا تفترض أن قلة الكلام هي نقص في الفهم - أخبرهم بكل شيء ، بغض النظر عن السبب.

لا تفترض أن قلة الكلام هي نقص في الفهم.

إذا كان لدى طفلك أنبوب ، فامنحه الفرصة ليكون جزءا من العملية. اسأل عما إذا كانوا جائعين ، وكن على استعداد لتعديل توقيت التغذية بناء على استجابتهم. بالنسبة للأطفال غير اللفظيين الذين ليس لديهم أجهزة اتصال مثل جهازي ، قد تكون الاستجابات حركة أو تعبير وجه. قد يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت لمطابقة ردودهم مع المعنى ، لكن ردودهم لها معنى. يعد تطوير إشارة موثوقة ل "لا" مكانا جيدا للبدء. كونك المتلقي لا يتطلب التنازل عن كل السيطرة. في حين أن الأطفال قد لا يكونون مسؤولين ، إلا أنه لا يزال بإمكانهم التفكير. ومثل أي طفل آخر ، من المحتمل أن يرغب طفلك في المشاركة.

أنا، اليوم

قرر والداي وضع أنبوب التغذية الخاص بي بناء على توصية الدكتور كازلو ، الذي ما زلت أتابعه مرة واحدة في السنة. يعلن لي نجاحا كاملا - أنا بصحة جيدة وقوي ووزن جيد بالنسبة لطولي. على الرغم من أنني لم أعد آكل بشكل ترفيهي ، إلا أنني أستطيع تناوله مرة أخرى. ربما لن أفعل ذلك لأن الكفاح من أجل تناول الطعام يفوق أي متعة ، وكذلك أي رغبة في التأقلم. أفضل استخدام وقتي لفعل ما أريد.

عندما تقوم عائلتي بإعداد الطاولة لتناول العشاء ، يتم طرح السؤال ، "كم عدد الأشخاص وعدد الذين يتناولون الطعام؟". أجلس على الطاولة ، ويتم توصيل طعامي مباشرة إلى معدتي من خلال أنبوبي. لا يلزم المضغ أو البلع. أقضي وجباتي مستمتعا بصحبة عائلتي وأصدقائي. لا يوجد المزيد من التوتر حول الحصول على ما يكفي من التغذية. لا توجد فوضى لتنظيف وجهي وملابسي. أنا آكل بينما يأكل والداي ، وعندما ينتهي وقت الطعام ، نستمر جميعا في عيش حياتنا السعيدة والصحية.


لمعرفة المزيد حول أنابيب التغذية ، راجع الدليل الكامل للأبوة النادرة لأنابيب التغذية.

الإفصاح: في بعض الأحيان ، نقوم بتضمين روابط للمنتجات الموصى بها. عندما تشتري منتجا من خلال رابط ، قد نكسب نسبة صغيرة من البيع ، دون أي تكلفة عليك. تساهم هذه المبيعات في تشغيل موقعنا ، وتساعد في الحفاظ على المحتوى مجانيا للقراءة.

مشاركة:

إعلان

التعليقات

  1. شكرا. أنا أيضا والد لصبي صغير ، مثلك لم يعد صغيرا بعد الآن. يبلغ من العمر 16 عاما وسيبلغ من العمر 17 عاما في يوليو. كانت القدرة على قراءة هذا من وجهة نظرك تجربة رائعة بالنسبة لي. ونعم جلبت الدموع إلى عيني. ولكن ذلك لأن ابني غير اللفظي و Inhave غالبا ما تساءل عن شعوره تجاه حياته. كولتون ، ابني ، شخص رائع وقد علمني الكثير عن الحياة أكثر مما يمكنني تعليمه في أي وقت مضى. لا يسعني إلا أن آمل أن يتمكن من تعلم كيفية استخدام جهاز الاتصال الخاص به حتى نتمكن أنا وهو من الجلوس والتحدث لأيام متتالية. شكرا جزيلا لوضع حياتك في كلماتك الخاصة. أنت شخص رائع أيضا! أتمنى أن تكون حياتك أفضل فقط مع مرور الأيام!

  2. شرح ممتاز وغني. أشعر وكأن نافذة شخصية قد فتحت أمامي لتجربة وتقدير عالم جديد وجميل. مكتوبة بخبرة ومزيج رائع من الشخصية والعلمية. نتطلع إلى المزيد....

  3. ابراهام! يا لها من متعة قراءة عملك والدخول في البناء النظيف والصلب لكتابتك مرة أخرى. تهانينا على هذه القطعة الجديدة وعلى القطعة الأخرى القادمة!

  4. شكرا Abey على هذه المعلومات المفيدة. الشيء الذي يضيء بالنسبة لي هو وضوح أولوياتك وقدرتك على عدم مقارنة تجارب الطعام للآخرين بتجاربك في ضوء سلبي. التفاؤل والإيجابية هما المفتاح!

  5. شكرا أبي لإخبارنا بقصتك المذهلة. لدي ابنة تبلغ من العمر ثماني سنوات غير لفظية وأنا قلق طوال الوقت بشأن شعورها حيال إطعامها بالأنبوب ، وإذا كان ذلك مؤلما. الخبر السار هو ، مثلك ، أنها قبلت ذلك وبدأت في الازدهار. شكرا مرة أخرى لكتابة هذه القطعة. أتمنى لك كل التوفيق في جامعة كولومبيا ، ويرجى إرسال بعض التحديثات إلى Rare Parenting حول تقدمك.
    بالمناسبة ، تبدو والدتك وكأنها نجمة روك كاملة!

اترك تعليقا

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

المشاركات ذات الصلة

إعلان

شارك هذا

ابق على اطلاع

اشترك في النشرة الإخبارية الشهرية

ابق على اطلاع بآخر الأخبار والمعلومات.

إعلان

آخر الأخبار

إعلان

شعبي

إعلان

ابق على اطلاع

ابق على اطلاع

اشترك في النشرة الإخبارية الشهرية

ابق على اطلاع بآخر الأخبار والمعلومات.

إعلان

Advertisement

Advertisement

Eating is Overrated: A Child’s Perspective on G-Tubes

Editor’s note: Occasionally, we invite a young adult to write a first-person account of their childhood experiences. We hope their reflections shed light on certain circumstances so that parents gain insight as they care for their own families.

A year ago, at the age of nineteen, I was diagnosed with FOXG1 syndrome, a rare genetic disease with a range of symptoms from minor to severe. Each child’s symptoms are characterized by their specific mutation of the FOXG1 gene—my symptoms look similar to cerebral palsy but with a movement disorder. Whole exome sequencing revealed a 460 duplication—an extra G nucleotide in my DNA—explaining why I don’t walk, talk, eat, or control my laughter.

Since there is no cure yet, my treatment revolves around symptom management and assistive technology and equipment, like wheelchairs and standers. Some children and adults can use hand-activated switches (buttons) or an Eye Gaze device (a tablet that can track your eye’s movements) to communicate. These didn’t work for me because I have involuntary movements in my extremities, making it difficult for me to press a button or hold my head in a position long enough to focus my gaze.

Over time, my mom learned I could use my chest, instead of my hands, to hit switches. We are a DIY family, so my dad built “Tell Us Abey,” my communication system. It combines several switches with my computer, each controlling something on the screen. I use this system to chat with friends, take exams at Columbia University, and write about my disability.

Life before my G-tube

Image of Abraham Weitzman when he was a toddler
Credit: Michelle Weitzman | Abraham Weitzman

I’m told I was a good eater when I was born, but I spit up a lot. By one year old, I was underweight and unsuccessful at eating solid food. My mom was committed, but no amount of her love and persistence would change my inability to chew and swallow. My gastroenterologist, Dr. Kazlow, switched me to Pediasure to increase my calorie intake. It had everything I needed to grow big and strong, in theory.

No amount of my mother’s love and persistence would change my inability to chew and swallow.

While I was able to drink from the bottle, I still vomited, so I didn’t gain weight. In time, I was diagnosed with “failure to thrive.” Can you imagine hearing that I was a failure? I was a baby! Babies should not be labeled with “failure,” no matter their condition. Aside from the insensitive diagnosis, my mom was upset—she was worried about what to do next.

My surgeries

Dr. Kazlow said I would need a feeding tube. A surgeon would make an opening called a gastrostomy from my belly, just below my ribs, into my stomach. This g-tube (gastrostomy tube) would eliminate the need to coordinate swallowing. They hoped my reflux, which was blamed for my vomiting, would improve with time and medication. At seventeen months, I had my surgery.

For the next two years, my parents fed me Pediasure using a feeding tube and pump, but I still didn’t gain weight because my severe reflux continued to cause vomiting. I vomited after every meal, at therapy, on the street, in restaurants… it was endless. When my mom drove me to school, she covered me with a towel to keep me clean.

Finally, my mom called Dr. Kazlow and screamed, “How would you like to throw up after every meal for your entire life?!” He agreed it was time for another surgery. The next step was a procedure called a Nissen fundoplication. The surgeon created a one-way valve between my esophagus and my stomach, blocking stomach contents from traveling to my esophagus. It was done laparoscopically, which means they made tiny incisions and used a camera to see what they were doing. It worked perfectly—I never vomited again.

Life with my G-tube

Image of Abraham Weitzman when he was a child
Credit: Michelle Weitzman | Abraham Weitzman

The truth is, I don’t remember my surgeries—they both took place before I turned four. In my memory, I grew up getting my calories, vitamins, and minerals through my tube. I ate only for recreational purposes, which means I ate for fun. I ate socially and only what I wanted, when, and if I wanted. I was never forced to eat. My parents bought me my favorite things to encourage my eating—Boursin cheese, chocolate mousse, and tubes of cannoli cream. My friend Mike helped, too—he made me the inside of deviled eggs.

At school, I ate during snack time and was tube-fed at lunchtime in the nurses’ office. I was at a school for medically fragile kids until eighth grade, so I was not alone at lunch. I had buddies from other classes who also were tube-fed by the nurses. For us, it was just another way of eating.

At home, I ate very little by mouth. My mom prioritized therapy and academics. She offered food but knew recreational eating wasn’t as important as reading or times tables. My tube relieved us of hours of frustration trying to get adequate nutrition into my digestive tract.

My tube relieved us of hours of frustration.

By high school, there was even less time for eating, and I soon realized it wasn’t fun for me. As I got further in my education, I needed to spend more time producing high-quality work. When I had free time, I didn’t want to spend it struggling to swallow a tablespoon of whipped cream in fifteen baby spoonfuls only to drool half of it out on my shirt. Ultimately, the choice to stop eating orally was my decision, and my parents supported it.

My feeding tube formulas

While the delivery method hasn’t changed in my nineteen years, the formula has. I started with Pediasure, which worked well, but I couldn’t digest it fast enough, so one of my meals happened while I slept overnight. All of my pajamas had slits to run the tube up my leg, so my involuntary movements didn’t cause me to pull it out.

After Pediasure, I tried the ketogenic diet to prevent my seizures that weren’t well controlled with medication. It required a formula made from powder back then. I had no trouble digesting it, but it didn’t affect my seizures well enough, so I went back to Pediasure. Soon after, we found a medication regimen that worked instead.

Later, in my teens, we tried a high-protein formula for weight gain. When that didn’t agree with me, we found a peptide-based recipe. Every child has different needs, but the peptide formula has been the most successful for me.

I don’t always need to have a peptide formula, though. When we are out and don’t bring an extra carton, a milkshake will do. Anything you can drink through a straw can go in my feeding bag without terrible consequences.

As many children do, I take my medicine for epilepsy and movement control through my tube. It is the ideal delivery method because swallowing is time-consuming and difficult for me.

Tube-feeding is not like eating

Image of Abraham Weitzman in his outdoor disability chair, with his mother at his side, holding up his feeding tube bag as he is tube-fed.
Credit: Josh Weitzman | Abraham and Michelle Weitzman

My parents handle everything about my medical care other than actually feeding and medicating me, which is done by aides. I am a recipient, not a participant in the process. You may think that means I have no control over what goes into my body. You may also think you would not like being told what to eat and how much is enough. But here’s my lesson for you: tube-feeding is not like eating.

Here’s my lesson for you: tube-feeding is not like eating.

I feel hungry and full, but I don’t feel the formula going into my belly. I cannot taste it. I enjoy the smells in the kitchen—chocolate, coffee, rosemary, and thyme— but formula doesn’t smell in a feeding bag. Tube-feeding is a neutral experience. It’s not painful, nor pleasurable. It is just an ordinary necessity. For someone who enjoys eating, this may sound disappointing, but for me, it’s normal.

It may be difficult for you to imagine that eating by mouth is unnecessary when it is integral and essential to your life. Understanding my mom well, you may feel saddened because your child isn’t able to eat like everyone else. While those feelings are valid, getting nutrition is more important than how you get it.

Talk to your kid, but listen to them, too

If you are considering a tube for your child, communicate with them about the surgery process and being fed through a tube, both before surgery and as they grow. Even if they cannot respond, tell them what is happening to their body. Except for the youngest children, they will understand some of it—maybe even more than you know. Do not assume that a lack of speech is a lack of understanding—tell them everything, no matter what.

Do not assume that a lack of speech is a lack of understanding.

If your child has a tube, offer them the opportunity to be part of the process. Ask if they are hungry, and be willing to adjust the timing of feeding based on their response. For non-verbal children without communication devices like mine, responses might be a movement or a facial expression. It may take time to match their responses with meaning, but their responses do have meaning. Developing a reliable signal for “no” is a good place to start. Being the recipient does not require ceding all control. While children may not be in charge, they can still weigh in. And, like any other child, your child likely wants to participate.

Me, today

My parents decided to place my feeding tube at the recommendation of Dr. Kazlow, whom I still follow up with once a year. He declares me a complete success—I am healthy, strong, and a good weight for my height. While I don’t eat recreationally anymore, I could take it up again. I probably won’t because struggling to eat outweighs any pleasure, as well as any desire to fit in. I’d rather use my time to do what I want.

When my family sets the table for dinner, the question is asked, “How many people and how many eaters?”. I sit at the table, and my food is delivered directly to my stomach through my tube; no chewing or swallowing is required. I spend my meals enjoying the company of my family and friends. There is no more stress over getting enough nutrition. There is no mess to clean off my face and clothes. I eat while my parents eat, and when mealtime ends, we all continue living our happy, healthy lives.


To learn more about feeding tubes, see the Rare Parenting Complete Guide to Feeding Tubes.

Disclosure: Occasionally, we include links to recommended products. When you purchase a product through a link, we may earn a small percentage of the sale, at no cost to you. These sales contribute to the operation of our site, and help to keep content free to read.

Share This:

Advertisement

Comments

  1. Thank you. I am also a parent of a little boy who, like you is not so little anymore. He is 16 and will be 17 in July. Being able to read this from your point of view was an amazing experience for me. And yes it brought tears to my eyes. But it’s because my son nonverbal and Inhave often wondered how he feels about his life. Colton, my son, is an amazing person and he has taught me so much more about life than I can ever teach him. I can only hope that he is able to learn how to use his communication device so he and I can just sit and talk for days on end. Thank you so much for putting your life into your own words. You are an amazing person too! May your life only be better as the days pass!

  2. Excellent and rich explication. I feel like a personal window has opened for me to experience and appreciate a new and beautiful world. Expertly written and a great combination of the personal with the scientific. Look forward to more….

  3. Abraham! What a pleasure it is to read your work and enter into the clean, solid construction of your writing again. Congratulations on this new piece and on the others to come!

  4. Thanks Abey for that helpful information. The thing that shines through for me is the clarity of your priorities and your ability to not compare the food experiences of others to your own in a negative light. Optimism and positivity are key!

  5. Thanks Abey for telling us your amazing story. I have an eight-year-old daughter who is non-verbal and I worry all the time about how she feels about being tube fed, and if it hurts. The good news is, like you, she has accepted it and is beginning to thrive. Thanks again for writing this piece. Wishing you all the best at Columbia University, and please send Rare Parenting some updates on your progress.
    By the way, your mom sounds like a total rock star!

Leave a Comment

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Posts

Advertisement

Share This

Stay up to date

 alt=

Sign up to our monthly newsletter

Stay updated with the latest news and info.

Advertisement

Recent Stories

Advertisement

Popular

Advertisement

Stay up to date

Stay up to date

 alt=

Sign up to our monthly newsletter

Stay updated with the latest news and info.

Advertisement